Kensington
Congregational
Church

United Church of Christ

Our Historic Meetinghouse

Animation by Mr. Joe Roberts

Built in 1774 at the site where the Tunxis, Quinnipiacs, Wangunks, and/or Mattabesetts used to gather.

Our simple white meetinghouse, which can comfortably seat about 300 people, was built over 300 years ago. Back then, the Town of Berlin was organized into meetinghouse districts and the Kensington Meeting House, as well as the town library - which it housed, became important centers for discussion and debate.

During the Civil War, a 10' by 18' flag handmade by our ladies proudly hung from the bell tower. (It was restored in 2002 and hangs in our Parlor.) Stop by some Sunday morning to experience the its dignified simplicity, its great acoustics, and see our unique historical exhibits in the lobby and balcony. You can read more about the Meeting House under the Our History link.

Enjoy below a short slide show of the exterior and interior of this beautiful Historical structure.

Welcome to our
300 Year Old Meetinghouse

  • Seats confortable 300 adults
  • The Balcony can seat 89 adults
  • Concert organ and Grand piano
  • Professional Sound system with digital recording
  • Ample parking for 100+ vehicles
  • Beautiful Grounds for outdoor photography
  • Parish Hall Next to church for after event gatherings
Meeting House